Award for International Scientific Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS)
Fellowship & Programs
Location :Home>Awards & Fellowships>Award for International Scientific Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
2012 Winners of the Award for International Scientific Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences




Prof. Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao, Indian, was born in 1934. He obtained his PhD at Purdue University and completing postdoctoral work at UC Berkeley in 1958. He returned to India in 1959 and has worked in various capacities at the Indian Institute of Sciences and other institutions. Currently, he is national research professor, Linus Pauling research professor and honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR). Prof. Rao's research mainly focuses on solid-state chemistry, material science and structural chemistry. He has so far authored and edited more than 40 books and published over 1,400 research papers in leading journals of those before-mentioned areas, with the total citation number reaching over 40,000. He is recognized as one of the world’s most prominent researcher in solid-state chemistry and is also a pioneer in many fields of material science. He was the first recipient of the Indian Science Award conferred by the Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, for his outstanding contributions to solid-state chemistry and material science. Earlier in 1996, he was awarded the Einstein Gold Medal by UNESCO. He was given an honorary Linnett Professorship by Cambridge University in 1998 and was honored as Chemical Pioneer by ACS in 2005.

Prof. Rao has enthusiastically promoted the scientific cooperation between TWAS and CAS. He visited China many times and was honored with the CAS Einstein Professorship. As the President of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS), he attended the TWAS 14th General Meeting in Beijing 2003 and conferred the TWAS Presidential Medal to the Chinese President Hu Jintao. While serving as the Chairman of TWAS Election Committee, Prof. Rao provided many important advisory suggestions to the organizing of the TWAS 12th General Conference and the TWAS 23rd General Meeting held in September 2012 in Tianjin, China. His work has played a significant role in promoting CAS-TWAS and Sino-Indian scientific exchange and in advancing scientific capacity building in developing countries.

Herbert Jaeckle


 Herbert Jaeckle 

Herbert Jaeckle from Germany, born in 1949, Vice-President of the Max Planck Society (MPG) and Director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, is a world-famous developmental biologist. He has made outstanding contributions to developmental biology by using model organisms to study biochemical pathways and molecular characterization of regulatory networks, and is a member of the Academia Europe, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the Academy of Sciences at Goettingen, and an honorary professor at the University of Goettingen. He has published nearly 200 papers in top-ranking scientific journals such as Nature, Cell, Science, EMBO J, and Neuron, and has co-authored 53 academic books. Owing to his distinguished achievements, Prof. Jaeckle has been awarded many prizes, including the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, the highest honor in the German scientific community, the Feldberg Prize, the Karl Ritter von Frisch Medal of the German Zoological Society, and the Prize of the German Society for Cell Biology.

Prof. Jaeckle has played a positive role in promoting scientific and technological cooperation between China and Germany, specifically between CAS and the MPG. As a result of the efforts of Prof. Jaeckle and Prof. CHEN Zhu, former Vice President of CAS, the CAS-MPG Partner Institute for Computational Biology (PICB) was founded in Shanghai in 2005. Under his leadership, PICB passed its scientific evaluation with distinction in 2009.In addition, through his efforts alongside Prof. LI Jiayang, former Vice President of CAS, the running funds of PICB have increased substantially, laying a firm foundation for PICB’s development in the ”12th Five-Year Plan”.  

Prof. Jaeckle has also made contributions to the scientific restructuring of CAS and to management innovation. He introduced MPG management to the CAS research system at PICB. With efforts from both sides, PICB has built up a high-quality international team, which consists of excellent academic leaders and young scientific group leaders. Prof. Jaeckle has also been active in training young talented people. He has provided strong support for PICB to join the International Max Planck Research School in order to provide more collaborative scientific research opportunities for young scientists in China.  


 Geliy Alexandrovich Zherebtsov


Geliy Alexandrovich Zherebtsov, born in 1938, is a renowned Russian space physicist, and one of the founders of Space Weather Research in Russia. He is a Full Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences and has more than 240 publications in academic journals. He has been awarded the Order of Service to the Fatherland, Order Sign of Honor, and the Medal for Valorous Laborto Mark the Centenary of V.I. Lenin, due to his prominent contributions to scientific research. He once served as Deputy Governor for science and technology of the Irkutsk Region.

In the past decade, Professor Zherebtsov, as the Director of the Institute of Solar- Terrestrial Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences (ISTP, RAS), has dedicated himself to promoting scientific cooperation between CAS and RAS. It is of mutual benefit to ISTP, RAS and the National Space Science Center (NSSC), CAS to establish scientific cooperation in the field of Space Weather.  

With Professor Zherebtsov’s encouragement and support, RAS and CAS jointly established the Russia-China Joint Research Center on Space Weather. Within this framework, scientists from both sides have engaged in active academic exchanges. As of 2012, the joint center has received more than 20 collaborative grants, published over 80 papers and organized 11 bilateral workshops. To date, almost all the major institutes working on space weather in Russia have been involved in scientific exchanges. Professor Zherebtsov facilitated the signing of the third Agreement and Charter between ISTP and NSSC in April 2012to establish the Russia-China Joint Research Center on Space Weather, paving the way for cooperation in the next five years.  

Professor Zherebtsov has also actively promoted the exchange of ground-based observation data and supported extension of the International Space Weather Meridian Circle Program (ISWMCP) to the North by taking the initiative to sign an ISWMCP Agreement with CAS. Currently, he is devoting himself to promoting Russia’s participation in the Kuafu Program, a mission in the CAS Strategic Pioneer Program on Space Science, to deepen Russia-China cooperation in the field of space weather  

Add: 52 Sanlihe Rd., Beijing China Postcode: 100864 Tel: 86 10 68597523 Fax: 86 10 68511095 Email:
© 1996 - Chinese Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved